PiMP 2016

PiMP 2016 Winners

This year’s Photography in Medical Physics (PiMP) competition concluded at the Engineering and Physical Sciences in Medicine Conference, EPSM 2016 in Sydney. The finalist images were on display at the booth of our sponsors, the Gamma Gurus and were shown on the large screens in the symposia rooms of the Australian Technology Park Conference & Event Centre between the scientific presentations.

The PiMP 2016 winners were announced during the afternoon tea break on Wednesday. As before, there were three thematic categories judged by our panel of judges plus the People’s Choice (Public PiMP) award chosen by members and staff of ACPSEM.

Category: Professionals at work

1st place – James Rijken “Radiation Signage In Sight”


2nd place – Duncan Butler “Sleeve Alignment”


3rd place – Nanette Schleich “Broken Linac Mirror”


Category: Marco – Get up close and personal with Medical Physics

1st place – Nanette Schleich “Broken Linac Mirror 2”


2nd place – James Rijken “Electron Fractals”


3rd place – Reza Alnaghi “Electron Acceleration”source”


Category: Other exciting aspects of Medical Physics

1st place – Ryan Smith “Liquid X-rays”


2nd place – Stephanie Corde “Jelly Rat Hungry After Synchrotron Microbeam Radiation Therapy“


3rd place – Price Jackson “Seriously, Go Away”


People’s Choice aka “Public PiMP” Award

1st place – Christchurch Hospital Oncology Physics Team 2004 “LinacBoat”


2nd place – James Rijken “Radiation Signage In Sight”

3rd place – Michael Jameson “Beams Eye View”




Congratulations to all winners! And thanks again to everybody for entering: we could literally not do this without you!   Thank you to the ACPSEM leadership and HQ staff, namely Geoff Barbaro (General Manager), Hannah Pia Baral (Deputy General Manager), Susie Zhong, Josephine Ardizzone and Denise Wang for their support!

We would also like to thank the Gamma Gurus again for supporting PiMP 2016 and enabling us to print images and to provide nice trophies to the winners.

We are excited about the request from Martin Caon, Editor in Chief of Australasian Physical & Engineering Sciences in Medicine, the scientific journal of ACPSEM, to publish PiMP images from this and previous years in upcoming issues of the journal.


Joerg Lehmann (PiMP Master)

May Whitaker and Alannah Kejda (PiMP Mistresses)

final   01 - Thank you to the Gamma Gurus for the generous support of PiMP 2015  supported by

Public PiMP award 2016

It’s time for the public vote for this year’s competition. Here is a link to the finalist images (click on any thumbnail image for a larger view):




Please look over the finalists, pick your three favorites and vote using the link on the left bottom of the page. Voting for the award is open to ACPSEM members and staff. Other votes will be considered for display image selection. Voting will close on Monday 7 Nov 2016 at noon (Sydney time, UTC +10:00).

Trophies, the highly coveted “PiMP Awards”, for the winners in the three categories selected by the judges and the “Public PiMP Award” will be given out during EPSM in Sydney. There will be certificates for second and third places.

Selected images will be on display at the booth of our generous sponsor, the Gamma Gurus.

We hope you enjoy looking at the images as much as we do.


Judging done

The judges for the 2016 PiMP competition have submitted their verdicts and the results have been tallied. Trophies will be engraved soon.

A big “Thank you!!” to our judges:

Mercury Megaloudis, Melbourne
Australian Photographer of the Year

Kimberly Sayre, San Francisco
Professional Photographer

Tilly Boleyn, Sydney
Manager, Powerhouse Museum

Sonja Dieterich, Sacramento
Medical Physicist

Marcel van Herk, Manchester
Medical Physicist

Leslie Duffin, Caves Beach
Gallery Owner

PiMP 2016 Call for submissions

We have received such fantastic images and great feedback from our second PIMP competition last year, we’ve decided to do it all again this year! We invite you to submit your best shots to PiMP 2016.

The rules remain the same:  all Medical Physicists are invited to submit up to 5 photos per person to the 2016 “Photography in Medical Physics” (PIMP) competition.  The goal is to celebrate our exciting profession and to show off visually stimulating aspects of the work of a Medical Physicist.

The competition will again run in three categories:

P – Professionals at work

O – Other exciting aspects of Medical Physics

M – Macro: Get up close and personal with Medical Physics

Images will be judged by a jury of professionals from Medical Physics and Photography.  Criteria are visual impact, storytelling aspects, and technical quality. The top three images in each category will be awarded prizes and the highly coveted “PIMP award”. We will also again have the public’s choice prize, the “Public PIMP award”, as voted on by members of the Australasian College of Physical Scientists & Engineers in Medicine (ACPSEM).

The images will be shown at the EPSM 2016 in Sydney.  Selected images will be published on the ACPSEM website and in the Newsletter, on our website (www.PhotographyInMedicalPhysics.com), related social media (www.facebook.com/go4PiMP) and other publications.

Terms and Conditions

  • Deadline for submissions is 31 July 2016 17:00 AEST
  • Images must be photographs. Small image corrections and modifications in image editing software are allowed, but the impact of the image needs to arise from the photo and not from post processing.
  • Image submission is digital via email to:  photographyinmedphys@gmail.com with subject line: “Image submission”. Attach all images to one email. You will receive a confirmation email within 3 business days.
  • Image size: largest dimension: 2000 pixels, colour space: sRGB
  • The submitted image file name should contain the name of the photographer, the category (P, O, or M) and the name of the image separated by spaces, e.g.: “BobHasselblad P JoysOfMonthlyQA.
  • Submission is open to any practicing or aspiring Medical Physicist irrespective of the field of work or employeer.
  • Each person may submit up to five images in total and specify a category for each image in the file name as described above (otherwise we will assign one).
  • Copyright for all submitted images remains with you, the photographer. By submitting an image you grant the organisers and ACPSEM a non-exclusive license to publicly show your image(s) (printed or in electronic form) to promote ACPSEM and this and future competitions. Image credit will be given.
  • By submitting an image you affirm that any people shown in the image have agreed to be there and are ok with the image being shown publicly and possibly being printed. You further affirm that your image does not violate any copyrights.
  • Equipment can and likely will be visible in many images. We ask that all vendor identifiable equipment is treated with respect (we love our vendors!). We also ask that the display of vendor names and logos in the images is kept to a minimum.
  • The organisers reserve the right to exclude any submission that they deem non-suitable.

The competition is again organized by Joerg Lehmann, May Whitaker and Alannah Kejda as a social activity of the NSW/ACT branch of the ACPSEM.  It is kindly supported by sponsorship from the Gamma Gurus.

We very much look forward to your entries!

Joerg, May and Alannah