Call for submissions – PMP 2023

Welcome to the 2023 Photography in Medical Physics competition. After a lot of fun and many diverse submissions with ARSENIC in 2021 we took a break for reflection in 2022. We are now back with the original Photography in Medical Physics competition (and a slightly abbreviated acronym: PMP) .

This year we invite everyone to photograph their favourite piece of Medical Physics gear. This could be an ion chamber, an x-ray tube, a treatment delivery system or anything else you enjoy working with.

We also have a category for images along the theme of this year’s EPSM “Connect, Communicate, Collaborate”.

Embracing new developments in the imaging world we introduce an AI category. Let your fantasy and skills go wild and create AI images celebrating Medical Physics.

And lastly, we will also invite any other photographic images showing technical and/or social aspects of our profession. 


  • Participants submit photographs in digital format, always retaining the copyrights to their work and with the permission for us to use the images within outlined rules
  • Submission is open to any practicing or aspiring member of an ACPSEM affiliated profession, and their colleagues.
  • The images are assessed by a panel of judges based on their visual impact, storytelling aspects, and technical quality.
  • The images are presented to the public and all are invited for a public vote.
  • Prizes are awarded during EPSM in Christchurch


G – My favourite piece of Medical Physics gear photographed

CCC – images along the theme of this year’s EPSM “Connect, Communicate, Collaborate”

AI – AI created images on the subject of Medical Physics

O – other images that display the beauty of technical and social aspects of our field

Image display and use

Selected images may be displayed at EPSM, published on the ACPSEM/BHTF websites, their newsletters, on the our website, journal, related social media and in other publications. Participants agree for their images to be used as part of the submission. We will do our best to always provide image credit. We will potentially use selected images for promotional items. If you wish to not have your image included with those, please advise so with an email at the time of image submission.

Terms and Conditions

Deadline for image submission is 1 Oct 2023

Image submission is digital via this upload site. Each person may submit up to five entries in total.

Image type: JPEG

Image size: as large as possible

The submitted image file name should contain the name of the artist, the category and the name of the image separated by spaces, e.g.: “HelmutNewton_CCC_Collaboration.jpg” 

Submission is open to any practicing or aspiring member of an ACPSEM affiliated profession and their colleagues.

Copyright for all submitted images remains with you, the artist. By submitting an image you grant the organizers a non-exclusive license to publicly show your image(s) printed or in electronic form as described above.

By submitting an image you affirm that any people shown in the image have agreed to be there and are ok with the image being shown publicly and possibly being printed/sold. You further affirm that your image does not violate any copyright laws.

Equipment can and likely will be visible in many images. We ask that all vendor identifiable equipment is treated with respect (we love our vendors!). We also ask that the display of vendor names and logos in the images is kept to a minimum.

The organisers reserve the right to exclude any submissions that are unsuitable.

There is no time limit on when the art work or image has been created, however, images may not have been previously submitted to the Photography in Medical Physics competition.

The competition is organized by Joerg Lehmann and Alannah Kejda as a social activity of the NSW/ACT branch of the ACPSEM. Its goal is to celebrate our exciting profession and to show off visually stimulating aspects of the work of a Medical Physicist. PMP 2023 is kindly supported by sponsorship from DTect.

We look forward to your submissions!
Joerg and Alannah

PiMP Winners 2018

The results of the 2018 Photography in Medical Physics (PiMP) competition have been announced at the “Gamma Gurus Gala Dinner” of the Engineering and Physical Sciences in Medicine Conference, EPSM 2018 at the Adelaide Oval last week.

A selection of 30 images have been printed in high gloss on metal. They are on display in the City Suite Foyer of the Adelaide Convention Centre until 28 November 2018. The prints were part of a silent auction at the gala dinner for the benefit of the Better Healthcare Technology Foundation.

PiMP awards were given in the two categories “Technical / Technology” and  “Professionals at work”, as judged by our panel of professionals. Additionally the winner of the “Public PiMP” award was chosen by members and staff of the ACPSEM.

Professional Judging – Technical / Technology

1st place – Duncan Butler “In Lucy’s Head”

(c) 2018 Duncan Butler


2nd place – Gray Lu “State of the Art Phantom”

(c) 2018 Gray Lu


2nd place – Talia Jarema “Into the Tunnel”

(c) 2018 Talia Jarema


2nd place – Duncan Butler “X-ray tube at 100”

(c) 2018 Duncan Butler

Professional Judging – Professionals at work

1st place – Daniel Truant “Patiently waiting on a linac”

(c) 2018 Daniel Truant

2nd place – Rik Nezich “Doomsday Preppers”

(c) 2018 Rik Nezich


2nd place – Amy Walker “Self Reflections”

(c) 2018 Amy Walker

People’s Choice – Public PiMP Award

1st place and Public PiMP Award –  Rik Nezich “Doomsday Preppers”

(c) 2018 Rik Nezich


2nd place – Daniel Truant “Patiently waiting on a linac”

(c) 2018 Daniel Truant


3rd place – Duncan Butler “X-Ray tube at 100”

(c) 2018 Duncan Butler

Congratulations to all winners! Thank you to all participants for entering amazing images this year! We could not do this without you. Thanks to our judges, and thanks to all the members and staff who participated in the online vote!

Thank you to Eva Bezak, convener of EPSM 2018, to the ACPSEM leadership and to Susie Zhong for their support of PiMP 2018!

We would also like to thank Hans and Jason of the Gamma Gurus for their continuing support of our competitions!


Joerg Lehmann (PiMP Master) and Alannah Kejda (PiMP Mistress)

final   01 - Thank you to the Gamma Gurus for the generous support of PiMP 2015

Public PiMP Award 2018

It’s time for this year’s public vote. Here is a link to the finalists.

Please look over all images (there are 2 pages), pick your three favourites (in order) and vote using the link on the left bottom of the page. Voting will close on Monday, Oct 2018 at 4 pm, Adelaide time.


We look forward to your votes!